Being There

I went to a viewing today; the father of one of my coworkers passed away. I guess he had been sick, but it was pretty sudden how he passed. At the viewing, I asked my coworker if there was anything I could do for her and she said just me being there was enough.
Let me tell you a little about her. She is the kind of woman who does not take any crap from anybody; if she does not like something, she will let you know about it. She is funny as hell and I love it when she laughs. She also has the biggest heart and is really a softy even though she acts tough.
I told her several times to let me know if there was anything I could do for her, and I meant it. On the way home, I started thinking about how often that phrase is used and what it really means. I have said those words before to many people in similar situations. I am sure lots of people have said it to others and did not really think twice about it. But what do we really mean when we say, ‘let me know if I can do anything’? I guess for me it means I would be there if she (or anyone I say that to) needed a to shoulder to lean on, an ear to listen, someone to vent to, a coffee date or just some company so she/they would not feel lonely.
I think some people say those words and do not think about what might happen if the person on the receiving end actually does need them for something. I admit I have said, ‘let me know if I can do anything,’ willy-nilly before, but I think from now on I will try to take care and think before I speak.

Leave a Reply

