Trying to Better Myself

I have mentioned very briefly in two other posts that I am taking classes for Web Design.  I won’t link to those posts because, as I said, I just mentioned it and the rest of the posts are about creepy dudes, quilting and bitching about work.  I currently work as a Dietetic Technician, Registered (DTR) in a nursing home.  I’ve done this for almost 13 years and I’m burnt out!!  Sometimes I can’t believe how much I have changed from when I started.

I’ve always worked in nursing homes.  When I was in college and was going through my clinicals, I always said a nursing home was the LAST place I wanted to work.  Then I the old people sucked me in and I fell in love with them.  Over the past 13 years I have fallen out of love with them.  I do still love them, but it’s just not the same and that makes me a little sad and frustrated.

So I’m hoping this (eventual) new career move, and the classes leading up to it will reinvigorate me.  I’ve taken online tutorials about web design and basic HTML coding and I think it’s really cool.  I started this blog to become more web savvy and to learn about WordPress because my Web Design teacher recommended it.  Currently I’m working on (fumbling my way through) a website for a friend, and I’m trying to make it look halfway decent.

I just started summer semester and I’m taking English Composition and I can’t wait till fall classes start so I can learn more webby stuff!  I’ve become such a geek.  I’m so excited!  I hope I’m able to stay this excited about it and do great work.

4 thoughts on “Trying to Better Myself

  1. It’s always exciting to start on a new path! Grats on going back to school! Sounds like you’ve already made a great start. 🙂

  2. I’m so proud of you. You have such a positive influence on me! I continually thank God for the gift of working with you and becoming friends. The Bible describes you over & over as the type of truthful and good person God wants us to be. Whn I grow up, I want to be just like you!

Leave a Reply

